Less mad more fit please

This journal is also about health and fitness – not just depression.

When 2017 rolled around, I decided to try everything I could to get better, because I know my declining physical health has affected my mental health.

In the past few months I’ve:

  • adopted a vegetarian diet (no meat or fish, but I still enjoy eggs and a bit of dairy)
  • given up alcohol
  • decided to wean off caffeine (grim)
  • decided my body deserves more respect

So, I’ve decided to undergo a fast. It’s not my first time and it won’t be my last.

I’m already practising (relatively) regular intermittent fasting, from 8-12 pm during the week (or 16:8 protocol).

Now, I’m ready to take it up a level and fast properly. I’ve been meditating on my decision for almost six months and I feel ready. believe this time, my fasting process is going to help me finally deal with some of the underlying issues that keep causing my depression to trigger

From now until mid-February, I’ll slowly be removing all animal products, refined sugars, caffeine and wheat from my diet. Then, I’ll be juice fasting for a week. Afterwards, I’ll be eating a vegan diet with no caffeine included.

I already feel 20 x better not eating meat. Symptoms I used to suffer: acid reflux, bloating, flatulence, meat-induced fatigue after eating and aggression. Oh and really fucked up dreams!

I’ll be blogging the some of the experience too.

Leave a Reply

